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GETTYSBURG ‘88 RULES CLARIFICATIONS 
UPDATE 12/7/12 

 
Movement 
 
1. Road movement may not be used to enter enemy 
zones of control (ZOC).  Units may use road 
movement when leaving enemy zones of control.  
Enemy ZOC also negate bridges at streams. 
 
2. It costs one extra movement point to enter a rough 
hill hex (E6, F5, and F6). 
 
3. Units are not required to stop upon entering enemy 
zones of control.  (“ZOC don’t lock.”)  They may not, 
however, move directly from one enemy ZOC to 
another. 
 
4. If a general unit is on an entry hex when a unit or 
units under his command appear, the general unit 
may add one extra movement factor to those units if 
it follows them to the end of their movement. 
 
5. A general accompanying a combat unit to provide 
it with the extra movement factor may move before or 
after doing so, or detour at any point in the combat 
unit’s movement, as long as the general is present 
for each hex of the combat unit’s movement. 
 
6. In order to receive an extra movement factor, a 
combat unit must be accompanied by the same 
general for each hex of its movement. 
 
7. When an entering unit’s entry hex is blocked by 
enemy units or enemy ZOC, the entering unit comes 
on board at the nearest board edge hex not occupied 
by enemy units or in enemy ZOC.  If 2 such hexes 
are equally near, the entering unit may choose either. 
 
8. When an entering unit’s entry hex is blocked by 
friendly units which are unable to move, the entering 
unit comes on board at the nearest board edge hex 
not occupied by enemy units or in enemy ZOC.  If the 
entering unit is blocked by friendly units which are 
able to move, the friendly units can move to allow the 
entering units on board, or the entering unit can cross 
over the friendly units. 
 
9. Road movement can be maintained if non-road 
movement is involved inside a hex.  For example, 
movement from I5 to H5 to G6 receives the road 
bonus for each hex, because the non-road 
movement takes place completely inside hex H5.  

Other examples are G8 to F7 to E7 and G10 to G9 to 
G8. 
 
10. A general may not “commit suicide” by 
deliberately entering an opponent’s ZOC. 
 
11. The Battle Manual, page 20, Rule 8b2, COMBAT 
EXAMPLE 2, Movement, Paragraph 2 is incorrect.  
Pegram’s movement costs it 3 1/2 movement factors, 
not 4 1/2 as printed. 
 
Stacking 
 
12. Two or more generals from the same side may 
occupy the same hex, whether or not combat units 
are present. 
 
13. Hancock’s power to command any Union units on 
July 1 extends through Turn 8. 
 
14. If Hancock ends the Union half of Turn 8 
commanding units of different corps, he may remain 
in command of those units during the Confederate 
portion of Turn 9.  However, he must relinquish 
command at the beginning of Union Turn 9 unless he 
is unable to move. 
 
15.  The two Cavalry Corps generals, Stuart and 
Pleasanton, can command any cavalry unit in their 
respective armies, including horse artillery units. 
 
16. Stacking limits apply only at the end of a player’s 
movement, not during movement. 
 
Regular Combat 
 
17. The retreat sequence is as follows. 
 a. If possible, retreat to an adjacent hex which 
is not in enemy ZOC and not occupied by friendly 
combat units.  The retreat is now complete. 
 
 b. If no such hex is available, retreat to an 
adjacent hex which is not in enemy ZOC but is 
occupied by friendly combat units.  From that hex, go 
back to step “a”. 
 c. If all retreat hexes are in enemy ZOC, if 
possible, retreat to one that does not contain any 
friendly combat units.  The retreat is now complete. 
 d. Retreat to a hex that is in enemy ZOC and 
contains friendly combat units.  From that hex, go 
back to step “a”. 
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A retreating unit cannot enter or reenter any hex 
originally occupied by it or any other friendly unit 
engaged in the same battle.  If any step calls for that 
to happen, go to the next step. 
 
If following this sequence results in an “endless loop,” 
go to the next step that would break the loop. 
 
18. If a defeated unit’s only retreat would result in 
overstacking, it cannot retreat and must take an 
additional step loss. 
 
19. If a defeated artillery unit’s only retreat would be 
to a wooded rough hills hex (E6 or F5), it cannot 
retreat and must take an additional step loss. 
 
20. The “0” on a 10-sided die represents 10 (ten). 
 
21. Notwithstanding Rule 4a5, which states that “An 
individual combat can never consist of attacking units 
from 2 or more hexes against defending units in 2 or 
more hexes,” such an attack is possible if both 
attacking hexes are adjacent to both defending 
hexes.  For example, units in E8 and G8 could attack 
units in F7 and F8 in one battle. 
 
Double Range Artillery 
 
22. A single attacking double range artillery unit may 
attack more than one enemy artillery unit as long as 
all defending units are within double range. 
 
23. Artillery adjacent to and therefore engaged in 
regular combat with other units may not engage in 
double range artillery combat. 
 
24. Artillery units gain terrain modifiers when 
attacked at double range by other artillery units, but 
not when attacking at double range or supporting 
other units attacked in regular combat. 
 
25. A defending double range artillery unit on a hill 
does not gain the terrain modifier if attacked from the 
same hill (e.g., Cemetery Hill). 
 
26. A defending double range artillery unit in woods 
does not gain the terrain modifier if attacked from a 
continuously connected woods hex (e.g., S4 and U5.) 
 
27. Double range artillery combat may not cause 
more than a one step loss, and there is no advance 
or retreat after combat. 
 

28. If either the double range artillery unit or its target 
unit is on a hill hex, intervening terrain (including 
intervening hill hexes) does not block such combat. 
 
29. Defending double range artillery may not add its 
combat factor to another defending double range 
artillery unit.  It may only add its combat factor to a 
unit defending in normal combat. 
 
30. Two artillery units in the same hex cannot split 
their double range artillery combat into two battles. 
 
31. Double range artillery combat is not allowed at 
night. 
 
32. Advances and retreats of previous battles do not 
alter the odds of combats involving double range 
artillery that have not yet been rolled. 
 
Scoring 
 
33. Units voluntarily moved off the board are 
considered eliminated, scoring the appropriate 
number of Victory Points for the opposing side.  Units 
retreated off the board, including retreats to avoid 
elimination or step losses, are not considered 
eliminated.  Such retreated units score no points for 
the opponent if undamaged and one point each for 
the opponent if flipped.  General units retreated off 
the board or voluntarily withdrawn may reenter the 
game during the next night turn per the rules as 
written; any other units retreated off the board or 
voluntarily withdrawn may not reenter the game. 
 
34. Reinforcements never brought on board do not 
count as VPs for either side. 
 
35. General units may be used to control victory point 
hexes. 
 
36. If a unit is successfully reorganized, the victory 
point scored by the opposing side for flipping the unit 
is negated. 
 
Miscellaneous 
 
3
e
 

7. The initiative marker may be used only once in 
ach battle. 


